top of page
  • andrewpelechaty11

Two Grand Final Losses for Rooboys

The Coorparoo A1s and C4s fell short in their 2023/24 Sub-District Cricket Grand Finals.

The A1s were in a good position against Peninsula at Filmer Park. Bowling first, Coorparoo dismissed Peninsula for 170 on day one. Josh Saul took 4/34, Hayden Lanza 3/36, and Ben Mably 2/54. The A1s reached 3/81 at stumps (Jordan Lanza 23), trailing by 89 runs. Unfortunately, no play was possible on day two, denying the A1s a shot at a premiership hat-trick. The game was drawn and Peninsula won the premiership due to finishing higher on the ladder.

The C4s lost on first innings against South Brisbane at Jack Cooke Oval. Bowling first, Coorparoo dismissed South Brisbane for 134 (Jacob McInerney 4/37, captain Marc Fidler 3/25, Connor Freiberg 2/39). In reply, Coorparoo was dismissed for 73 (Gavin Lett 24, Ross Freiberg 22). South Brisbane reached 1/3 at stumps on day one, a lead of 64 runs. Like the A1 Grand Final, no play was possible on day two.

The 2023/24 Paul Stafford Medal will be held sometime after Easter.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page